HSC News

2023 College Hockey South D2 Playoffs Coming to Huntsville, Alabama

Huntsville, AL – College Hockey South (CHS) is excited to announce that the 2023 CHS (D2) Playoffs are returning to the Hockey Capital of the South, Huntsville, AL. The 4-day event will feature the conference’s top-10 teams and will take place at the Huntsville Ice Sports Center February 23-26, 2023. The Huntsville Sports Commission, the Huntsville Ice Sports Center, and the CHS will partner to bring exciting collegiate hockey playoff action to the Rocket City.

The College Hockey South footprint comprises collegiate hockey teams in six (6) southeast states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee. CHS also recently announced the inclusion of a Women’s Division of six collegiate teams beginning in the 2023-24 season.

The 2022-23 D2 teams of College Hockey South:

The University of Alabama, University of Alabama in Huntsville, Auburn University, Clemson University, Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, University of Florida, Florida Atlantic University, University of Georgia, Georgia Tech, Kennesaw State University, Lynn University, Middle Tennessee State University, Ole Miss, University of Miami, University of Central Florida, University of South Carolina, University of South Florida, University of Tampa, University of Tennessee, and Vanderbilt University.

  • The top ten (10) teams based on regular season play will advance to the CHS Playoffs.
  • The top seed from the East, West, and South Divisions will hold the #1, #2, and #3 seeds in the playoffs based on who is ranked higher in the National rankings. The #4 seed in playoffs will receive the #2 seed from the South Division. Seeds #5-#10 can come from any D2 Division and will be seeded based on overall National rankings.
  • The CHS will announce the names of the participating teams advancing to the Huntsville, AL playoffs on or before February 12th, 2023.
  • This important collegiate hockey tournament will majorly determine the conference’s top teams advancing to Nationals. The national governing body of the CHS is the Collegiate Hockey Federation (CHF) www.CHFhockey.net. The CHF Nationals are known as The Fed Cup and will take place in West Chester, PA, March 10-15, 2023.

For more information, go to www.collegehockeysouth.com.


Founded in 2008, College Hockey South is a 23-school intercollegiate hockey conference spanning six southeastern U.S. states and competing in the national Collegiate Hockey Federation. College Hockey South is a 501(c) not-for-profit organization.

The Huntsville Sports Commission is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3), organization that promotes and enhances the quality of life in Huntsville by identifying, recruiting, promoting, and staging sporting events and meetings. For more information, contact Brooke Izzo, Director of Marketing & Communications, 256-883-3769, brooke.izzo@huntsvilleal.gov