For The Love of Sports.

The Huntsville Sports Commission is a not-for-profit, 501 (C) (3), advocacy organization that promotes an enhanced quality of life in the Huntsville area. The Huntsville Sports Commission prides its self in the customer service we provide. Our goal is to help you make your event the best that it can be. We worry about the details so you don’t have to.

Our Team

Ralph Stone

Executive Director

Gina Kirkland

Assistant Executive Director

Brooke Izzo

Director of Marketing & Communications


Founded in 1999

 The Huntsville Sports Commission was founded in 1999 and incorporated on March 23, 2000. The Commission conducted business for two years by a 15-person board of volunteers, until the first executive director, Greg Patterson, was hired in July 2003. 

* The seven founding board members were given the power to appoint an additional six members and the Mayor and City Council of Huntsville were provided with one appointment each for a total of 15 board members.

      • Ronald Evans 
      • Charles Winters 
      • Dr. Mary Ruth Yates 
      • Glen Watson
      • Terry Hatfield
      • Dallas Fanning 
      • Ralph Stone

Our Current Board Members

Sonny Batchelor

Tyler Fanning

John Hamilton

Steve Ivey

Bill Joyner

Steve Maples

David Nast

* Founding Board Member

Mark Russell

AJ Smith

Scott Stapler

Steve Thornton

Ken Watson

Steve Wilson

Charles Winters

* Founding Board Member